Broken Neck (Nearly….)


Weekends go by so quickly. I remember as a kid, I’d go off on my bike for hours with my friends and it would seem like eternity!!

Anyway, enough of the nostalgia (for this post anyways).

Saturday morning, I roused myself for the first rugby game of this year. It had been about 4 weeks or more since I last played and I was dreading it. Felt all fat and slobby from Christmas still. Still, didn’t take me long to get into the swing of things. About ten minutes in, we have a scrum on the opposition 22 and a scissors move was called between myself and the fly-half. Ball came out nice and quick (for once) I ran a beautiful line and cut through the defence for our first score.

The game continued in this vein, with Isle of Wight never really testing our resolve. It was all going so well until about th 20th minute of the second half. I side stepped my inside centre and pushed off the fly-half, when all of a sudden I see a big fat forward come bounding towards me. I get myself low to try and duck under him, but unfortunately, I positioned myself a bit wrong. My head went straight into his gut. All I heard was this God-awful crack and the base of my head went numb.

I have to admit, I was terrified. I’ve been playing rugby for nearly 18 years now and know full well the dangers it poses, but I’ve never been that close.

I hit the deck and screamed “my neck”. The game was stopped and, luckily for me, our two new physio’s came bounding over. In the mean time, I wiggled my fingers and toes and relieved myself with the knowledge I wasn’t paralysed. A minute or two of massage on my neck and a hand from a couple of the boys, I was on the touchline. Stiff, but none the worse for wear.

I feel a bit of a pussy looking back on how I screamed, but then again, I had thought for an instance I had broke my neck. No one took the piss in the bar, so I couldn’t have been that bad.

Still stiff today, but it’s loosening. Sure a good run out Saturday will loosen it some more!! (c:

Leave a Reply

