Religion


I’ve just come back from a friends childs dedication. I was at a total loss as to what the hell this was as I’ve been brought up a Catholic so know baptism and christenings.

So we get to the church and it’s one of these new age churches with a rock band and ministers dressed in jeans. As I said previously, I’m a catholic so I’m used to praying in silence, a priest and singing hymns. This place was totally different. Hands were in the air, whooping at things people said and lots of “praise Jesus”. I felt a little awkward if I’m honest. I’m quite a reserved person (until a few beers of course). But I could see the attraction.

I look at people with faith and envy them sometimes. To have such an unwavering belief that all will work out if you behave and abide by the rules must be a fantastic feeling.

However, I look at it the other side too. Religion is a dangerous thing. Suicide bombers, hate groups against gays/soldiers/single mothers, brain washing, it’s all so degrotary to society and mutual human life.

So how can something that gives so much joy also bring so much pain?

One thought on “Religion

Leave a Reply

