Training Not Quite Going To Plan


All my life I’ve been a rugby player and I absolutely adore the game. Without being too big headed or egotistical, I’m also a pretty talented player. What I mean by this is that it comes very naturally to me (passing, tackling, tactics, positioning) so I don’t have to work as hard as others.

That’s my problem. Because I find it easy I don’t work hard at training and I’ve become fat and lazy.

I’ve just come back from a long term injury and my fitness is shocking. Never been this bad. So now I want to train but my lazy side is making it very difficult.

I’ve also restarted muay Thai. Once again, I’m loving this!!! However, due to my shocking physical state I’m finding this MUCH harder than rugby and it’s embarrassing me!!! At least when I go rugby training I have my skill to hide my unfitness. Not so at Thai boxing.

But I’m trying. I’m trying to get myself motivated to train rugby twice a week and Thai twice a week. I’m failing at the minute, but I’m going to keep trying and hopefully defeat my lazy demons!!!!

Any words of encouragement or advice gratefully received!!!

Leave a Reply

