Meaning of Christmas


I’m a catholic. Not an avid one, I don’t go to church or stuff, but I do believe. But what I believe in more is the good spirit of Christmas.

I’m sat at an outdoor German Market in the middle of Southampton freezing cold and enjoying a nice cold german beer. Sounds strange but I’m listening to some people playing Christmas carols on brass instruments (probably sally army), looking at students dressed up collecting for charity, people happy and think this is the meaning if christmas.

Now I know it’s to celebrate the birth if Jesus and that is close to my heart, but if people forgot all about that and still celebrated Christmas for being a time of family, joy and giving, would Jesus be that upset?? His message was love one another. Surely that’s what Christmas is all about. Love.

I’m probably going to get some born again Christian email me abuse now, or the pope excommunicate me, but I don’t care. I am of the opinion that if we enjoy christmas, keep true to the spirit of loving, giving and sharing, then God and Jesus will find their way back into it. After all, doesn’t the bible say God Is Love??

Leave a Reply

