Whatever Happened to the Nativity Play?


My niece has a Christmas play tomorrow. I can’t go as parents only, which is fine, but it got me to wondering if it’s a traditional nativity play or not.

It seems to me that the old tradition of a schools Christmas nativity play has died. Everywhere I turn, it’s a “holiday play” or “school play”, never Christmas or nativity play. This, it seems, is so everyone can join in, regardless of faith.

Now I’m all up for living together and sharing etc. but I find this a total disgrace!! Christmas is a Christian time for christian faiths. Why would Hindu’s, Jews, Muslims, or atheists want to be a part? And why should we lose a tradition and part of our faith so others can join in? I don’t ask Muslims to change their eating habits during Ramadam, or ask Hindu’s to adjust their celebrations during Divali.

I hope people don’t see this as a dig at any religion or belief. I love the variety and spice different people and cultures have and I think that’s what makes humanity such an amazing thing. It’s a dig at mindless bureaucrats who have changed our way of life so as not to upset anyone.

The point is Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Jesus. The nativity is a way to teach this story to children. If you change this, you change the meaning of Christmas. If you change the meaning of Christmas, then you change the whole being of Christmas. If you do that, then what the fuck do we spend £100’s on every bloody year?

The Nativity play was central to my Christmas growing up at school and it upsets me that my niece, my newly born nephew and my unborn child might not get to enjoy the joys and fun i had with the Nativity play. What’s next to go, the Christmas Carol service?!?!?

2 thoughts on “Whatever Happened to the Nativity Play?

  1. “Why would Hindu’s, Jews, Muslims, or atheists want to be a part?”

    Because almost every religion has a winter holiday or festival…and quite a few predate Christianity.

    I was going to talk about public and private schools, but it seems you’re from the UK, so I’m not sure what the legality is.

    • Dan Wade says:

      I totally agree with your point about other winter festivals. I complete take it onboard and also would like to point out Christmas was only put in December thanks to the Romans wanting to try and tie it in with other winter festivals.

      My point is that once again, something that is totally harmless, inoffensive to anyone and part of the UK’s (as I’m from here, I can only comment on here) history and culture, has been changed for no good reason other than political correctness.

      I think you’ve read it as I’m implying that other religions have demanded this. I’m not. I’m simply saying that other religious festivals are not changed to keep the PC crazed people happy, so why should this?

Leave a Reply

