Me and Anthropology


One of my favourite television programmes is Tribe. It’s about this guy, Bruce Parry, and he goes off and lives with all these different tribes around the world, learning their cultures, living their lives and generally trying, for a very small time period, to become one of the Trieb. If you’ve read my piece on Hunter-Gathers, you will know this is a dream of mine.

So I thought I’d do a bit of investigating. Turns out anthropology is the subject that covers all this sort of thing (study of people, cultures etc) and would be the way forward for me to chase after this aspect of my dream. And, lo and behold, the university of Southampton (my home city) actually runs this course!!! Perfect!!!

Until I read further.

I’d like to think I was naive in thinking that it would be easy to sign up, study and fulfill a dream. But I think I was just deluding myself. Hoping beyond hope that it would say

X amount of A-Levels needed EXCEPT for Dan Wade who, obviously, wants this soooooo much he can join the course with just his accounting background and get some corporate backing for the adventures of a lifetime

Silly me………………….

Of course, like any uni course, certain entry criteria are needed. This one needs 3 A-levels graded ABB and a C in GCSE maths. I got the maths but no A-levels (through choice I may add). It’s not exactly a huge entry level. If I had stayed at college and not got bored, I would easily have hit this target. The knowledge of this frustrates me even more. Fingertips away from this pot of gold and my impatience and lack of attention scupper the whole thing.

So it looks like my dream is being put on hold a little longer. My travelling dream WILL come true, just another road to it seems to have been blocked. For now……..

One thought on “Me and Anthropology

Leave a Reply

