Twilight: New Moon is A-Ok!


So I gave in…….. I downloaded Twilight: New Moon last night.

I’ve got to be honest, when it first came out, I wasn’t that bothered about watching it. I downloaded the first Twilight movie out of pure curiosity as I generally love vampire movies (and secretly enjoy the American teen movie). I put it on, settle down for a cross between Interview with a Vampire and 10 Things I Hate About You and get the biggest load of teen emo crap I have ever witnessed! Good lord, surely the youth of today don’t think, talk and act like the star-crossed lovers of this pap?! I thought Bella was suicidal for the majority of the film. For a young couple in love, surely they could both smile once in a while……..

I’m sure I’m going to get electronically lynched for that critical review of the 1st film, but I hope you keep reading.

So I was sitting at home last night, when I had a sudden urge to watch New Moon. Before I could stop myself, I’d hit download on iTunes and it was too late to stop! It finishes and I settle down to watch.

*SEMI-SPOILER ALERT!!!*

It started off predictably emo and when Edward tells Bella he’s off, I honestly thought I’d see a wrist slitting scene. But all I can say is THANK GOD FOR WEREWOLVES! Jake and the pack saved this movie and quite possibly saved the remaining movies for me. Bella’s “woe is me” factor was dulled down enough to bearable levels, she even smiled in one scene and started to look like the good-looking girl she is. There’s still enough teen distraught emotions flooding the screen for the emotionally retarded among you, I would say MORE than enough man flesh on show from the pack and just the right level of manliness for me not to delete it from my hard drive forever.

Ok, I admit it. I do actually really like this movie (so far anyway). As stated, the beginning was a bit too much for me, but the middle bit (since Jake kicks in) is really starting to grip me. So I guess my annoyance is more with Edward than the movie itself.  Bella seems a mirror for the other characters. When she’s with Edward she’s a strange emo thing. With Jake, she smiles and seems to like life. I’m going with Jake!

Now I have to finish the last 40 minutes of it, but things are looking good and I may go as far as to say I’m intrigued to see the next installment (if anyone can tell me when it’s out and give me a bit of background on it, I’d be grateful)

2 thoughts on “Twilight: New Moon is A-Ok!

  1. I’ve been looking around danjswade.wordpress.com and really am impressed by the exceptional content here. I work the nightshift at my job and it really gets boring. I’ve been coming here for the previous couple nights and reading. I just wanted to let you know that I’ve been enjoying what I’ve seen and I look forward to reading more.

    • Wow, that is the NICEST comment I think I’ve ever had! Thanks very much Trina. Please keep reading and let me know your thoughts on my posts (c:

Leave a Reply

