iPhone Takes Me Back To Boyhood


For Sunday lunch today I met my vest friend from London for a pub lunch. My wife came along and so did his other half. We both have iPhones and as we sat chatting, the conversation turned to apps. We sat there, got our phones out and started comparing.

As we went through our respective phones, it was clear to see I had apps he didn’t and vice versa. The majority of the ones he had, I wouldn’t be overly bothered to download. Although he did have two I have since downloaded. And similarly, there were apps I had he didn’t and a few he downloaded there and then.

In the car on the way home, it got me thinking of how similar the scenario was between us and kids in the playground with football stickers. Bare with me on this one:

The album = The iPhone
Stickers = Apps

So you get the two boys in the playground, get out their stickers and compare to see which ones they can swap (usually to the chorus of got, got, need, got, OOOOH SILVER!!!). Then they’d barter to see which stickers they could swap and which ones were suitable for silvers!

This is how it rolled with me and my friend. We sat there, uttering got, got, need, while our other halves stared and shook their heads at our youthful, boylike exuberance. It’s so shocking how our lives seem to come full circle and things are all so similar.

2 thoughts on “iPhone Takes Me Back To Boyhood

Leave a Reply

