I Need Anger Management


I have a short temper.

There it is, in black and White. It’s something I’ve always had (along with no patience) and something I guess I’ll always have. It’s never been an issue before. Usually I can surpress my rage and cool off. I’ve never lost control. Yet.

And that’s my concern. Since my daughter’s arrived, I’ve been getting very angry when she crys. This is down to the fact I can’t help her. If I’ve changed her and burped her, I can’t do anything else (we’re breast feeding). So I feel helpless and this frustrates me and boils my anger so much! I’m truly concerned that one day I may lose it.

What riles me even more, is I’m so ashamed at getting angry. I know she isn’t trying to upset me or wind me up and my poor wife has to deal with a crying 6 week old and a husband on the edge. I’m a weak man and need help.

I’ve looked around on my local councils website and can only find help for under 25’s. How pants is that?!?!? So I’ve emailed the Samaritans. If you’re interested, I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “I Need Anger Management

  1. Have you looked through books and/or message boards for relaxation techniques? I know some people who’ve used book techniques in the past to help them get a handle on it. Surely you’re not the first person over 25 who has anger problems when a baby cries. I mean, the baby’s cry is biologically engineered to bother you! It’s a totally unfair fight.

    (And start practicing now, ‘cuz you’ll need all the help you can get for the first time your precious child “borrows” the car unexpectedly.)

Leave a Reply

