Pictures of Horror


I’m reading an amazing book called Voices of Yesterday by Michael Yarwood. It is set in the Warsaw Ghetto during ’42-43 and the oppression and systematic extermination of the Jews by the Nazi’s. And the vivid words of the writer got me to thinking and imagining what these people went through, the suffering and brutality forced upon them by the Nazi’s (and not just Jews, but Romani, homosexuals, ethnic minorities and many more). The figures stand at around 6 MILLION Jews wiped out by the Nazi regime (2/3 of the European population of Jews). If you include the other  groups killed by the Nazi’s this figures rises to between 11-17 MILLION PEOPLE! All non-soldiers.

So I’ve done some surfing and found some pictures I’d like to share with you. Next time you hear someone verbally abuse someone or say racist or homophobic comments, show them these photos and ask them to look into the people’s eyes and put themselves in their shoes:

April 12, 1945: Lager Nordhausen, where 20,000 inmates are believed to have died.

A member of Einsatzgruppe D is about to shoot a man sitting by a mass grave in Vinnitsa, Ukraine, in 1942. Present in the background are members of the German Army, the German Labor Service, and the Hitler Youth.[94] The back of the photograph is inscribed “The last Jew in Vinnitsa”.

Jews captured and forcibly pulled out from dugouts by the Germans during the Warsaw Ghetto uprising. The photo is from Jurgen Stroop’s report to Heinrich Himmler

A child dying on the streets of the Warsaw Ghetto

Starving prisoners in Mauthausen camp liberated on May 5, 1945

Romani children in Auschwitz, victims of medical experiments

A grave inside Bergen-Belsen concentration camp

I’m sure some people who see this will still stick by their disturbing views of racial and religious superiority, but these people have no soul. No human being can look at these images, think clearly about what is being done and still condone secular violence or hatred of any kind. Please, I beg you all, educate each other and the youth of today.
Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it
 
-George Santayana
7 thoughts on “Pictures of Horror

  1. Ahna Rebekah Hendrix says:

    Incredible post, due of course to the photos, but I enjoyed the overall message.

    The horror that the Jews and others lived and died through under the Nazi regime is one that both fascinates and disgusts me. I cannot even imagine the courage and heartache that must have been rampant amongst those with the knowledge of their coming death.

    The movie, Beautiful Life is an incredible example…(it’s an Italian movie and I am sure that I don’t have the name right..soo bad with names). My heart broke when I watched the father pretending that he and his son were playing a game the entire time they were in a camp, until his death. He played for his son and inevitably saved his life.

    I think it’s good that we talk about these events and do everything in our power to remember the lives lost.

    Because if there is anything I know, it is that had I been born differently…I could have been one of those terror-stricken faces.

    • Thank you for the really kind comment. I totally agree. The pictures are so haunting. There were so many to choose from but I didn’t want to swamp readers.

      This part of history has so much to teach us that, regardless of the horror of it, we can never forget it and every generation must take something from it, some pearl that will help our society better itself.

    • I’ve just looked at your website. I’m sorely tempted to delete your comment, but think it add’s more weight to my post. Also, as you state in your website, I am a support of free speech even if the person who’s talking is spouting rubbish.

      How you can deny the sheer-weight of evidence is beyond me, but you are entitled to your beliefs, as I am mine. I just pity you….

Leave a Reply

