I’m Addicted To The New Gadgets


I gave in about a year and a half ago and got myself an iPhone 3G. Before this, I’d always thought of myself as up to date with modern technologies and liked to think I was “in the know”. However, I’d always held off buying into these things as most of them turn into fads and never REALLY get going or become useful (point of case, Mini Disc players. HUGE FLOP) So I took my time getting the iPhone and I’m glad I did. I think I got it at the perfect time, the crest of the wave as it were.

Since collecting my third arm (as it feels like now), I’ve found myself becoming more and more attracted to gadgets and other computing technology. I love my iPhone 4, with a passion. Everything I need is in it. The only down side is the size. I’m finding more and more that I want something with a bigger screen.

Then what happens, Apple release the iPad…….. Talk about reading my mind!!! However, when I see the price, my heart dropped. I couldn’t justify a bigger iPhone for £500! But I love the idea of having something about this size that does everything, especially as my pc is in the final death throes and will soon go to the scrap heap in the sky.

So I’ve been reading up closely on the tablet revolution that appears to be sweeping the world. Android tablets being promised that will be iPad killers etc. To be honest, they’re all pants. Apple has too much of a strangle hold at the minute. Unless Google release an amazing piece of kit for a fraction of the price, they won’t unseat King Jobs.

But these tablets have brought my attention a piece of kit that’s gone under my radar. NETBOOKS!! Basically, a smaller laptop, screen the same size as a tablet, but with a keyboard (my opinion on touch-screen typing is still out) and the starting costs are about £150! To boot with this, you get USB ports, ethernet, bluetooth, external storage options, larger internal hard drive (starting about 160gb). Job done!

But then I wonder, is this one of those fads I’ve been so good at avoiding in the past? My iPhone is amazing and my pc is dying, so I do need another computing option, but whether to go PC, netbook or tablet is the question.

Any advice on this subject, please help me. I’m looking mainly for surfing, e-mail, chat, blogging, media (music, films and books) and a few online games.

4 thoughts on “I’m Addicted To The New Gadgets

  1. Miss O says:

    Why don’t you try a MacBook if you would every consider paying the ludicrous cash sum to get a tablet with no keyboard as you so right pointed out! Why not invest in a primo piece of hardware.
    I personally cannot wait to make the switch from PC to Mac!
    Good luck
    xoxo

  2. Kandy says:

    Dont get anything, because if you do then something better will be out. Just be content with what you have. Use the time you would have spent learning a new gadget to your beautiful daughter and wife.

    Don’d allow yourself to get sucked in anymore… be strong… !!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

