Usurper To The Crown


I have a problem. There is treason afoot within the court.

They say a man’s home is his castle. This is true, but my kingdom has always been the rugby field. Here, I have felt safe and secure, knowing that my skills and abilities will protect me. They are my moat and my fortifications, my shirt is my crown and my team mates are my army. Now, it seems, one of the foot soldiers dares to offer up a potential new king who wishes to claim my crown for himself.

During the off-season, some of the foot soldiers converted to the new religion of “rugby league“. This is not a treacherous act as the union was not being played and so was allowed by royal decree. However, whilst at this new church, another was discovered. A strong being with physical powers comparable to myself.

This has caused me considerable concern. Although my royal power has strengthened of late thanks in part to losing weight and getting fitter, this upstart is still a threat. A battle was had yesterday in which he was given a frontline position. His strength is undeniable. The remaining skills necessary to wear the crown were not on show. After seeing what he had in the heat of battle, I’m not excessively concerned now. True, I’m going to have to work harder to keep the crown, but with solid training I believe my natural god given talent will shine through. DEUS VULT!!

Failing that, there’s always bribery.

Leave a Reply

