PMA: Positive Mental Attitude


My wife is due to go back to work in January after being on maternity leave for our daughter. So she went in to see her HR department the other day to discuss this and see if part-time would be an option. Before going on maternity leave, her manager assured her that she would be able to do part-time and made all these promises.

She lied.

The response she got today was that she can have her old job back @ fulltime (as this is the legal requirement in the UK). Obviously, this means more money coming into the house, but it also means more money going out in nursery fee’s for my little girl. But the money is not really the sore point. Both my wife and I want her to go part-time so she can bring up our daughter, not some stranger. We’re all up for her going to a nursery for 2 days a week so she won’t be as clingy to us and become more sociable, but she needs parental guidance in life.

So this has left us in rather a difficult situation.

But as I went for my lunch today, I thought “sod it, this is a oppotunity in the offering!” My wife is a skilled photographer and loves it with a passion! She’s done wedding photography in the past, family portraits, children’s portraits etc. So I have told her we’ll agree to her going back fulltime in January (as we MUST have her income) but in the mean time, I want her pushing the photography work for all it’s worth and make this her business and main income. Her big problem is confidence and I’m hoping that this situation is the push she needs to overcome her shyness and embrace this talent she has and make some good money from it.

The moral of the story is: True, bad things happen. I don’t believe good things happen to good people. I believe all things happen to all people, but it’s how you react and deal with these problems that make you happy or sad. POsitive mental attitude people!

If anyone is looking for a photographer along the south coast of England, please contact me and she’ll give you a fantastic rate for being a blog follower!

One thought on “PMA: Positive Mental Attitude

Leave a Reply

