A Different Image of Russia


Russia come in out of the Communist Cold in 1991. Well, that’s how some see it.

After my school history lessons, I was always under the impression Russian‘s would have enjoyed turning their backs on communism and Imperial rule, but according to this BBC report, maybe that isn’t the case:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/newsnight/9204815.stm

Of course, I don’t take this as the gospel for Russian society views or how 99% of their population feel, but it does make a lot of sense when you look at the state of their country. Or is this simply how the powers that be want us and their own people to view the situation while they sit there and cream off the cash?

I have to be honest, I’ve no idea to the answer. I’ve no comprehension of Russian politics or the views of the people, but it certainly raises interesting questions, when a country of this size and potential power is so unstable.

Then we come to the pole dancing part. Are women REALLY doing that in Russia? Are things that tight that women perfect their sex skills in order to land a wealthy man and essentially become a wag (something lots of Essex girls would be proud of!)? Or was this a freaky, one-off class for peculiar people? I’ve always heard the rumours that there are more women to men in Russia and the women are gorgeous and the men ugly, but is this proof? The comment I loved was along the lines of :

no real woman would believe in women’s rights

SERIOUSLY?!?!?!?!

I think this video has caused me more questions than answers to a subject I had never really given much thought to, even though Russia has always fascinated me. This country is and always has been a sleeping giant, with its wealth of natural resources and HUGE numbers of man power, could potentially be the new China and influence international politics (even more so than they do already). But this could also be linked in with the way the country is run and the views of the people. More investigation is needed I think on my part.

Leave a Reply

